HOME

PROFESSIONAL
CREDENTIALS


TECHNIQUE

HOSPITAL
PHOTO GALLERY


PRE-OP
REQUIREMENTS


POST-OP
INFORMATION


RECOVERY
ACCOMMODATIONS


TRAVEL LOGISTICS

FEE STRUCTURE

TESTIMONIALS

BEFORE AND AFTER

FAQ

DISCOVER
SAN MIGUEL


OTHER MEDICAL
SERVICES


CONTACT US

Members Login

It´s been just over 5 months since my facelift by Dr Barrera and I am very pleased with the results. I look natural, rejuvenated and the scars are almost invisible.

My hairdresser did not suspect I had a facelift and was surprised when I told him. He thought I looked great but assumed I was refreshed from my vacation in San Miguel. He said it is the best surgery he has ever seen - and he has seen many. His exact words, "This was done by a very, very good surgeon. It´s the work of an artist. It´s like micro-surgery, precise and almost invisible."

When my friend who works for a cosmetic surgeon saw me recently, she was so impressed with Dr Barrera´s work that she asked for Dr Barrera´s contact information for some of her friends and clients.

At no time during my experience did I feel any pain from the surgery - a little discomfort afterward, yes, but no pain. Dr Barrera took every measure to ensure I was comfortable. I was worried about the stretched look and particularly concerned that the incisions around the ears would show. I worried for nothing. The incisions are well hidden and the overall results are as promised - a natural, somewhat younger-looking and less tired version of myself. My only problem now is that I´m often carded when I ask for a senior discount. People just don´t believe I´m 67.

I can´t say enough positive things about Dr Barrera and his team. He is a gifted, meticulous surgeon and a caring person. I recommend him without hesitation.

I want to also mention that Dr. Barrera´s team .... the chauffeur Juan Manuel, Suzy, his assistant and the entire hospital staff.... were all so kind, professional and supportive. His Int´l Director Dawn was so efficient, patient and helpful. I found the web site to be very clear, detailed and informative as well.

Louise
Montreal, Canada

It has been a year since Dr Barrera did my face lift. I was full of trepidation and twice cancelled my appointment even though as an expat resident of San Miguel. I had seen a lot of his work and it was beautiful and very natural affect which is what I was looking for.

Dawn was wonderful. For months before the surgery, she attended to my steady stream of neurotic questions. After the surgery she visited me at home and was so kind and reassuring.

After four weeks I flew back to the United States to visit my mother. My mother is one who never misses anything and I expected her to notice immediately. After several days she told me that I had the best haircut she’d ever seen but never noticed my face!

I am so happy I had it done. I can tell you in all honesty that I don’t look like I had a face lift. I just look good. My face is lifted, my neck is smooth and I feel terrific about my appearance. I’m happy to look in the mirror and constantly receive compliments about my youthfulness.

There is nothing less attractive than an obvious face lift. Dr. Barrera is a very talented surgeon and has perfected the art of a natural looking face lift. He has a following here in San Miguel of extremely happy women and I am definitely one of them.

Anonymous
April 7, 2014

Dear Dr. Barrera and Dawn,

As Johnny Nash sang, "I can see clearly now . . . "

I am absolutely thrilled with this entire experience. One week post-op (without stitches now) and you have to look closely to see that anything was done.

Each morning, I stand in good light so my husband can see my eyes. A lovely idea, but he focuses totally on the surgery and this morning told me, "I can barely see any scars."

I said, "That´s great. Now stop looking for scars and tell me about my EYES." He finally told me that he could actually see my EYES and they look great. After 51 years together, I recognize that, from him, this is high praise.

From me, the highest praise: I am finally reading without problems, my peripheral vision is vastly improved, and I no longer look like I´m frowning or squinting all the time.

Again, I thank Dr. Barrera, Felipe and you. Dr. Barrera for the change he accomplished with his expertise and adroit handling of the surgery (and my nerves), Felipe for his good-natured help getting us to and from the hospital and YOU for showing the awesome patience, humor, courtesy and kindness that went along with all of it.

Donna - Eye Lift Patient
San Miguel de Allende
March 27, 2014

I had my surgery by Dr. Barrera in December of 2012, so it has now been a year and two mos.

I was a little worried about going forward with having a face lift, as I am 72 years old. I wished that I had gone when I was younger as I carried this wrinkled face (and neck) for many many years as I was always in the sun (without sunscreen). I think my wrinkles were also genetic - but they really disturbed me the older I got. My other biggest fear was having a face lift using anesthesia, mostly because of my age, and Dr. Barrera only uses an I.V. Sedative and a Local Anesthetic which was very important to me.

My neck was hanging really really low. I no longer have any extra skin there, a year later it is still perfect and best of all (my biggest fear) is everything he does leaves you looking totally natural - not stretched. I have seen people in the States who looked stretched to the max and I was terrified, but every person he has done in Todos Santos (quite a few) comes back looking fantastic, natural, not stretched. That´s what gave me the nerve to do it.

Dr. Barrera has a very professional team. Dawn is like having a fairy god mother who checks on you often (Maricela, the lady with the small hotel also). It really makes a difference having people like this looking after you. It wasn´t scarey at all for me. The hardest part was making the decision to do it. A million what if´s . . . I say go for it - unless you are perhaps 90 yrs. old and then I would say accept the beauty within.

"Casa Maricela" has had the majority of Dr. Barrera´s patients stay with her and she´s more like your mother than a hotel owner. She made sure (when I was too shy to come down to eat) that I had trays brought to my room. That only lasted a day or two and she convinced me no one would mind (you all eat at one table together). It is a small place but I met people from all over the world. Eating together we all shared lots of stories in various languages. By the way, after 3 days with sunglasses and scarf I had no problem going out and about San Miguel, which if you´ve never been there, is a fantastic city.

On a scale of 1 to 10 - I give the doctor a 10 ..... and yes I would go back in a minute if I thought I needed a "touch-up" in another 10 years.

Pam Cobb
California & Baja, Mexico
Feb. 24, 2014

In my search for affordable, professional surgery, Mexico and specifically San Miguel de Allende was recommended to me. I am 65 years old and I could never have been more pleased. From beginning to end Dawn Simmons was there to answer my questions and calm my nerves. Upon my arrival in San Miguel following the surgery, I found that Maricela´s B&B far exceeded my expectations. The hospital was very clean, well managed and staffed.

You will never find this level of competence and care in the United States; it simply does not exist. Dr. Barrera was highly professional and most caring; something that was unexpected and truly moved me.

I have been home about 6 weeks and I look great! Not tight, stretched to shiny excess but rather, a nice, natural look totally appropriate for my age. Yes, I do look younger but mostly I look happier with all the frown lines gone!

My sincere thanks to the entire medical team; from my driver Juan Manuel, Susy (Dr. Barrera´s assistant), Maricela, Dawn and most of all, Dr. Barrera.

Jeri Haynes
California
November 25, 2013

I just wanted to take a moment to tell you what a wonderful experience it was to get a new lease on life with your assistance and Dr. Barrera´s artistry. The whole experience was a treat from start to finish. Before when I looked in the mirror I was always surprised to see an unfamiliar face ... tired and saggy. Now when I look in the mirror I´m delighted to see "me" again...looking as good on the outside as I feel on the inside! Thank you so much!

Kay
Destin, Florida
November 22, 2013

Seeing my official before pictures doubles my pleasure of seeing the "new me." I´m feeling terrific about my recovery and results ... but best of all, my Mother was very complimentary about my appearance.

As my swelling reduced throughout this process I was able to see the return of my cheekbones and actually visualize what my final results will bring. I´m thrilled to be physically active again. My jawline and chin look terrific and the peel around my mouth for the fine vertical lines was worth the temporary discomfort. The numbness in my face is less and less with the passing of each day.

Please pass along my praise to Dr. Barrera and of course thank you for your assistance.

Anonymous
New York
November 19, 2013

I met Dr. Barrera in Oct. 2012 when I had my consultation. I made my plans for my surgery for July 9, 2013, upon my return to SMA. As my surgery date approached, my anxiety increased, despite reassurances from wonderful Dawn Simmons, Dr. Barrera´s assistant. When I met with Dr. Barrera again the night before the surgery, I only had one request of him: "please don´t make me look Chinese!" We both laughed and he told me that he won´t give me that "surprised look"-- that´s not his style...and he was right!

Well, I must say that my results have exceeded my expectations. My results are completely natural. People are shocked when I tell them that I had a face lift- that I look so natural, since most procedures don´t produce such results. I have also been told that it is one of the best facelifts they have seen!

Bravo Dr. Barrera! The procedure was painless; very little discomfort. I was walking the streets of San Miguel again in one week (with sunglasses and hat) and back at the gym in 2 weeks--feeling great!

Next week I will reach my 3 month anniversary and not a day passes that someone compliments me and asks me for the name of the doctor who did my procedure.

Proudly, I would recommend Dr. Barrera. Thank you doctor, and Dawn for all your support.

Laurie Hurwitz
San Miguel de Allende and la Cruz de Huanacaxtle
October 2, 2013

I waited until I was 60 to have a face lift due to worrying that I would come out looking odd. It was daunting to even find out how much a plastic surgeon charges or to see their before and after photos without an expensive consultation with each one. Then, when visiting my father in San Miguel, I was told by my stepmother that they do good plastic surgery in San Miguel. I then met a woman in California who had told me that she had a friend that had gotten a face lift in San Miguel 10 years ago and that she still looked terrific. She told me that she wants to go to the very same surgeon, Dr. Barrera in San Miguel.

So I then contacted my stepmother, in San Miguel, and she said that Dr. Barrera was "very highly regarded in San Miguel." So I began reading the testimonials on the web site and looking at the before and after photos so openly available of Dr. Barrera´s work and I was so pleased with his natural results that I began to have email exchanges with Dawn Simmons.

Dawn answered both my friend and my emails and then she organized our airport pick up and our accommodations together which made the whole process fun and easy. Within weeks we were picked up at the Leon Airport by Dr. Barrera´s nice driver and we went directly to the hospital where I met with Dr. Barrera as my surgery was the next day. My pre-op tests were done that afternoon and the next morning I was asleep via I.V. before my gurney had even made it to the surgery room door and so I can honestly say that the surgery was non traumatic and painless!

When I woke up from the surgery I had tight bandages on my face, I felt good, and there was no pain at all. Dr. Barrera came by to check on me at several times a day and the nursing staff was attentive and caring. On the second day my tight bandages came off and I was amazed that I could look so good as I had arrived looking pretty bad. When I left the hospital I felt like an attractive woman who looks 45. Every day I look more like my younger self and although I´m only eighteen days post op, I can see that he didn´t alter my best feature which has always been my big eyes and their unique expression, which was important to me.

I was amazed at how everything was easier and better than I could have anticipated. After the hospital we were driven to "Casa Maricela´s" which is as lovely as described on her web page and she is the nicest woman. We both were thrilled with our surgeries!

Thank you Dr. Barrera, Dawn, and all of your staff.

Genevieve Carlson,
Humboldt County, California
August 31, 2013
18 days after surgery

"Look straight at the camera, stick your head out like a turtle and lift your chin." I had learned the trick to hiding excess droopiness when it was time for taking pictures. But those candid shots when I was caught unaware from the side or (please, God, NO!) from below, as in Facetime on an iPad – Oh, my. Oh, dear. Who IS that person?

I’d ask myself. That old woman in the photo didn’t look a thing on the outside like the way I felt on the inside. That is no longer the case. I look like I feel these days, thanks to the expertise of Dr. Barrera, and the attentive counsel of Dawn Simmons. It has now been almost four months since my surgery, and to everything I have read in the testimonials so far, I would say, “Right on! Absolutely! Double that!”

Perhaps the acid test of my satisfaction came a few weeks back when I spent a night in misery from some sort of stomach flu. At one point when I was rinsing my mouth out for the umpteenth time, I looked in the mirror. My first thought was that I didn’t look like I felt at that moment. Thank goodness and Dr. Barrera! In fact, I looked pretty darn good – which, even with stomach flu, made me feel a lot better.

Susan
San Miguel de Allende
August 22, 2013

Frankly, I was worried about my decision to undergo surgery since I did not know the risk and I was going to another country. I had read about Dr. Barrera´s expertise and that information was comforting. My plane from Houston was delayed, and I arrived at the hospital a little late in the evening. But Dr. Barrera was courteously waiting for me. I was impressed by his level of professionalism and kindness. He is really a good surgeon and I am very happy with my new look. Dawn Simmons, who was in charge of scheduling surgeries, was an extra nice human being who simply loves her job and knows the psychology of patients very well. She showed a high degree of caring in her follow ups. In fact, I was treated like a family member by some kind, professional people.

Samuel
Houston, Texas
August 23, 2013

Late last year I turned 70. Early this year I decided that a face lift would help me get the most out of life as a senior citizen. This decision and extremely good luck led me to San Miguel and Dr. Barrera.

Dr. Barerra is more than a highly skilled professional. He is a master with an artist’s dedication to his work. His operations are painstaking (mine was 4 hours) and his technique is brilliant. A Canadian dermatologist with a long and illustrious career told me he had never seen a better lift than mine. “I understand there are some excellent plastic surgeons in Mexico,” he said. “Obviously yours was exceptionally talented.” My mirror reflects his opinion.

Dr. Barerra is not only a gifted surgeon; he is also a physician who personally engages with his patients. I saw him five times during the two and a half days I was in hospital, and twice after I was released. He actually made a house call to remove my stitches! His warm, unpretentious manner made these visits a real pleasure.

Another remarkable feature of Dr. Barerra’s practice is the administrative expertise of Dawn Simmons. From my first inquiry in January to my surgery in June and even now almost three months later, Dawn has guided and encouraged me. She provided accurate information about every aspect of the procedure, including the nature and duration of the healing process. She recommended a charming and affordable place to stay during my recuperation. She arranged my transportation by private car from the airport in Leon to the hospital in Celaya, where I had great care and a beautiful private room. She also arranged for the same luxurious car and courteous driver to take me from the hospital to my destination in San Miguel. She contacted me daily while I was there to monitor my progress, and she has continued to do so frequently since my departure. I am beyond impressed with her kindness and efficiency.

What was truly amazing was the price of this premium medical service, which made it accessible to me. All of it cost less than half of the operation alone in Canada. As a middle-class person who sees plastic surgery as a way to grow old gracefully, I think faceliftmeup is a godsend.

Carol
Alberta, Canada

August 18, 2013

My husband and I had surgery on back to back days in September of 2012 with Dr Barrera and we were so very pleased with everything. We had amazing results in less time than we had expected and had wonderful treatment by the medical professionals at the hospital in Celaya.

We both look marvelous!
We cannot recommend Dr Barrera highly enough. He is the BEST!

Joan
San Miguel
August 4, 2013

I am a 65 yr. old, American expat who lives full time in San Miguel. I had the turkey neck and sagging jowls we all seem to get. I knew of several friends who had gone to Dr. Barrera but I also interviewed a couple of strangers who had the surgery done very recently. Reading the testimonials and seeing first hand the results convinced me to go ahead with the procedure. The whole process was very easy and almost painless. I only took Tylenol after I got home. It has been 18 months for me and I am ashamed I have not written this review sooner. I get compliments every day. People know that something is different but they can´t pinpoint it. Over the year I have also changed hairstyles and lost weight. You can´t help but feel good about yourself.

You are in good hands with Dr. Barrera and Dawn.

Jeanne
San Miguel de Allende
July 22, 2013

At the age of 65 I worried that I was too old to have a facelift, but my lifestyle and the way I feel about myself did not match the way my face looked. I wanted to lose the tired, over-stressed look that I had noticed in my face the last few years. Recent photographs showed that I had lost my jawline, and I had a double chin even though I´m not overweight.

After a lot of research I chose Dr. Carlos Barrera. I was impressed by the testimonials and photos of other patients, and by the fact that Dr. Barrera´s assistant Dawn was there to answer questions and concerns. I liked the fact that I could recover from the surgery in one of my favorite places, beautiful San Miguel de Allende, and that my surgery would be performed in a state of the art hospital in Celaya.

Dr. Barrera´s work totally exceeded my expectations. Friends and family say I look happier than they´ve seen me in years. Others say I look thinner, or that my eyes are bigger and brighter. I have always avoided mirrors, especially in the last few years. Now post-facelift I find myself checking out my neck and eyes every time I pass by a mirror! And I no longer avoid people with cameras.

I can´t say enough good things about Dr. Barrera and his cheerful but professional manner. He was honest about the time it would take to recover, and he and Dawn were always available to answer any questions or concerns. I would totally recommend his services to my friends and family.

Ann
Washington
July 23, 2013

I am so happy I got a facelift, and I am really pleased that Dr. Barrera performed the surgery. He is a master artist! Dawn, I am so very grateful that you were with me all the way, helping me. The service from start to finish was first rate, and far superior to the treatment that one gets in the United States. From the start, I was informed of the steps needed to arrange for the consultation and prepare for the operation. Every question or concern I had was addressed quickly and in a way that helped me understand and look forward to the process.

From the first meeting, I had confidence in Dr. Barrera. He explained what he would do and he showed me what the healing process looked like. He answered my questions and made sure I was comfortable with the process. Having a driver pick me up from where I was staying and get me to the right department in the hospital really was comforting. The process was so smooth, and it took the stress out of getting to the right place. Juan Manuel was also such a gentleman, carrying my bags and making sure I was settled in. He also met me at my room and carried my bags when he picked me up to go back to where I was stay.

I was so pleased when you visited me in the hospital, and the flowers you brought by kept me smiling as I healed. The flowers were gorgeous, and such a thoughtful gesture, Dawn. I took pictures to show my friends. Everyone was amazed at the superlative treatment!

I am healing well, and I’m looking forward to complete and total healing in 2 more months. I can´t wait to wake up and discover I’m my finished, younger self. I really see my younger self already when I look into the mirror. It looks wonderful!

I’ll keep you posted on the progress, and when I am totally healed I want to send you a picture. I love my look! Thank you, and also please thank Dr. Barrera.

Diane

Boston, Mass.

July 17, 2013

I returned home in March from SMA after my usual 4 month stay. I had had a facelift in November. I got lots of compliments on how good I looked and my new hairdo. Very few figured out what I had done. I may not look like a movie star, but I feel like a goddess. Not too bad at 70. Thank you Dr. Barrera and Dawn who held my hand every step of the way. I think of you with gratitude every day when I look in the mirror.

Marlene
McLean, VA
May 20, 2103

I am so thrilled with my decision to have a face lift; however it was a long hard decision. Even though I really wanted to do this I was very scared. After all this was my face... something I would have to look like for the rest of my life. My friends and family were no help in convincing me as they thought I looked good just the way I was.

A friend of mine who had this surgery convinced me it was great and gave me Dawn´s phone number. I finally got the courage to call her and got all the information. I felt fairly comfortable after talking to her but still could not commit.

Now as I look back over all this I feel a little foolish. This was the best thing I have ever done for myself. The results far exceed what I expected. I have had so many compliments. A lot of people have said I look 15 years younger. I am 65 and the other day someone questioned that I was a senior.

Dr. Barrera is a fantastic surgeon. No one is able to tell that I have had any work done because of the doctor. It is a very natural look. I have seen a lot of the overdone face lifts and I knew that is not what I wanted and that is not what I got. He was very honest in telling me what I could or could not expect. His aftercare was also fantastic and it was very easy to communicate with him.

The hospital was a lot better than I expected in Mexico. It was very clean and modern and the staff was very professional. Also the bed and breakfast that Dawn recommended was fantastic. The food was some of the best I have ever hand. The owner was so accommodating and helpful. I plan to go back there again just for fun. I love San Miguel.

And last by not least Dawn. She is also amazing! She was so helpful in explaining the process every step of the way. She was always in contact to make sure I was ok. It has now been 3 months and she is still in touch on a regular basis. You can take whatever she says to the bank. She and Dr. Barrera genuinely care about their patient’s well-being.

I will not hesitate to go back when or if needed to do another. It is so wonderful not to be wrinkled and baggy. I am planning to go back to Dr. Barrera for a tummy tuck soon. I will rely on him to keep me looking good forever!

I am thoroughly pleased with the results of my facelift with Dr. Barrera, done in October 2012. I was 54 years old, starting to feel and see sagging in my jowls and neckline, and droopiness around my eyes. The lift took 10 years off my face without stretching the skin or making it look fake at all. No one noticed when I returned to the states, although some friends did comment on how great I looked, and that Mexico clearly agreed with me.

Tamra - California
March 7, 2013

My experience with Dr. Barrera and all of the staff was absolutely excellent. I was well taken care of right from the beginning. I was emailed promptly and professionally. I was met at the airport and taken straight to the hospital where the Dr. was waiting later at night; I certainly did not expect that, but he was there and it helped to put me right at ease.

Everything was explained well and the follow through went just as it had been planned. Now when I look at the before and after photos I am amazed. It has been a gift to me and I am very grateful for everything. I would highly recommend Dr. Barrera for surgery. It was an awesome experience for me and well worth it. Thank you all once again.

Colleen
Canada
Feb. 12, 2013

TO ANYONE CONTEMPLATING SURGERY WITH DR. BARRERA ...

AT THE ONSET, NATURALlY I HAD A LOT OF TREPIDATION AND ANXIETY ABOUT DOING A PROCEDURE OUTSIDE OF THE USA. ALL OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY TRIED TO DISCOURAGE ME, BUT WITH THE HELP OF TESTIMONIALS, SUCH AS THE ONE I AM NOW WRITING, TALKING TO OTHER PATIENTS OF DR. BARRERA, AND THE GUIDANCE OF WONDERFUL DAWN WHO TOOK ME STEP BY STEP, I TOOK THE PLUNGE, AND IT WAS THE BEST DECISION I HAVE MADE IN A LONG TIME.

FROM THE MOMENT I ARRIVED AT THE AIRPORT, MY WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS FIRST CLASS. I WAS PICKED UP BY A CHAUFFER AND TAKEN TO A TOP HOSPITAL, THAT WOULD COMPARE TO THE BEST WE HAVE IN THE STATES, WITH ALL UP TO DATE COMFORTS AND ATTENTIVE STAFF. MY MEETING WITH CHARMING AND WONDERFUL DR. BARRERA PUT ME AT EASE AND CONFIRMED MY DECISION

NOW TO THE SURGERY, DR. BARRERA IS TRULY VERY TALENTED EXPERIENCED SURGEON. MY FRIENDS WHO INITIALLY TRIED TO STOP ME FROM GOING HAVE TOLD ME THAT IT IS THE BEST COSMETIC SURGERY THEY HAVE EVER SEEN. I LOOK YEARS YOUNGER, COMPLETELY NATURAL AND UNDETECTED.

THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS PAINLESS AND SURPRISINGLY PLEASANT IN BEAUTIFUL SAN MIGUEL. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS WITH ALL MY HEART,TO MY BEST FRIENDS, WHO, NOW THAT THEY HAVE SEEN ME, ARE THINKING ABOUT IT FOR THEMSELVES.

PNINA ANZA
NEW YORK
FEB. 7, 2013

I am extremely happy with Dr. Barrera´s artistry. I had a sagging chin and had told him that I just wanted to look good for my age. And personally, feeling good about how I would look was important to me because I knew the results would act as a catalyst for paying closer attention to my over all health as I aged. He did a superb job. Equally impressive was the entire process. Dr. Barrera´s answers to my questions were reassuring.

Dawn Simmons, his patient coordinator, handled every detail you could imagine. She anticipated your questions and kept a steady stream of useful information coming to you for the periods before, during and after the hospital procedures. The hospital and staff were first rate. I feel you would be hard pressed to find a smoother over all experience than Dr. Barrera and his staff provide.

Sandy Sims
San Francisco, Calif.
February 4, 2013

It is now nine months since Dr. Barrera did my surgery. I am delighted with the way I look...more youthful and refreshed, but definitely not artificial. The procedure itself was neither painful nor frightening. I felt completely safe and well cared for. The sensations during the healing process, which lasted about five months in my case, were a little uncomfortable and annoying. However, the result has been well worth it.

Judith
Vermont, U.S.A

Dear Dr. Barrera...
Although I was hoping to resemble George Clooney, I am totally satisfied with the results that I view in the mirror...

Just eight weeks ago my wife and I underwent facelift surgery by your skilled hands, comforting bedside manner, and total dedication to our endless stream of questions...Your warm, comforting and reassuring smile greeted us and low and behold, just as you indicated, we look great...

We salute your more than able liaison, Dawn...She was beyond attentive every minute of our pre-op and recovery...

Sincerely,
Howard Fox
Lily Kimmel
Chapel Hill, NC
Jan. 10, 2013

Dear Dr. Barrera,
I am so pleased with my results... I love the way I look....I love my neck! I am thrilled that I chose to come to Mexico, from Seattle, to have my face lift done by your skillful hands. You are an amazing professional and provided me with attentive follow-up care following the surgery. I would have never received this type of care in the U.S. It was so comforting during the initial stages of my recovery knowing that you were available by phone 24/7.

Your team is organized and efficient and the hospital staff was very capable and reassuring. I would recommend your services to anyone who is seeking a first rate correction to the face and neck. My expectations were exceeded in every aspect of this process.

I am getting marvelous comments from my friends and family members and it feels soo good. Thank you for making this a very positive and memorable experience. I feel young again and my face now matches the way I feel. I am most grateful to you!

Being able to recuperate in beautiful San Miguel was such a bonus. What an amazing city it is!

Katie,
Seattle, Washington
Jan. 10, 2013

Dear Dr. Barrera,
I wanted to let you know that I appreciate your professionalism, your skill and your commitment to ensuring my satisfaction. All of my arrangements went smoothly and you provided me with excellent follow-up care. Thank you for all that you did to make this such an easy process. Working with you and your staff was a very pleasant experience and the hospital care was beyond my expectations. I just wanted to let you know how pleased I am with the outcome of my face lift procedure. I would recommend your services without hesitation.


Sheila - Chicago, IL
Jan. 10, 2013

I have just reached my 3 month anniversary, and I want to tell you how pleased I am with how I look and feel. Having this facelift was truly a good decision, and I´m so glad I did it.

My friends and family say that I look much younger and fresher, but that my face looks totally natural without any appearance at all of having work done. The natural look is what is so wonderful about Dr. Barrera´s work. Peoply who meet me for the first time assume I am 10 years or more younger than I actually am. They can´t believe I have children in their 40´s.

The quality of care and service that I have received has been excellent: from being picked up by the driver at home and delivered to the clinic, to the actual surgical process and procedure, to the hospital staff and being able to have my husband with me the whole time, being driven home again and then Dr. Barrera coming to our home to remove the stitches made it all effortless.

The information that we received prior to the surgery, during and up to the present time from you, Dawn, was so instrumental in helping to make the process seamless, and I went through the entire three months feeling I was in control, knew what to expect at each stage, and that you people were available at all times for questions and advice.

The face staring back at me in the mirror is a pleasant surprise each day. I have recommended Dr. Barrera to several friends and family members, who are all highly impressed with the results as well as the level of care you provide.

So, I want to thank you and all of your team from the bottom of my heart, and wish you continued success in the future.

Sincerely,
Karen Lee
San Francisco
December 22, 2012

It´s been almost seven months since my surgery with Dr. Barrera, who not only gave me my face lift, but also eliminated its wrinkles and deep lines. My experience with Dr. Barrera and Dawn Simmons was very positive and professional, from my arrival at the clinic, to its staff and their tender care before and after the surgery. All of my questions were answered promptly and thoroughly by Dawn. During my recovery, I was anxious and nervous because I had a certain amount of bruising and swelling. All the while, Dawn encouraged me to be patient, reminding me that healing takes time. Bit by bit, my face calmed down, and the scars, bruising and swelling disappeared. Now it´s a real treat to have my face look as young as my body feels.

I remember with great fondness my experience in San Miguel after my surgery. Dr. Barrera encouraged me to wander around this beautiful city, putting on my dark glasses, sunscreen and a hat and to not worry about my bruises. I´m so glad I followed his advice.

I also must recommend Casa Maricela, a centrally located B&B that was my hjome for two weeks during my stay in San Miguel. Sra. Maricela and her staf were gracious and welcoming and served two fabulous home cooked meals a day.

Thank you so much, Dr. Barrera and Dawn, for your services. It was a great adventure and one I will appreciate forever.

Patricia
Santa Rosa, California
December 21, 2012

My experience with Dr. Barerra

The word around San Miguel de Allende has been, for some time, that Dr. Barerra is the doctor for facelifts. It was only after I had seen the results on two of my friends that I was totally convinced this was true. I had had a face life ten years before, and although it did make me look more youthful, I was disappointed that the lower part of my face more or less remained the same—in other words, in that previous facelift, although my face looked “lifted” in the upper half, it still had a jowly look in the bottom. I also knew that many people having facelifts have had the same disappointment.

But when I saw a woman ten years older than me (I am in my mid-60s) emerge from Dr. Barerra’s treatment with the smooth chin-line of a young woman, I was convinced he was the doctor I wanted to go to.

The suite in the hospital I recuperated in was pleasant, and the hospital staff were competent and very polite. I was up, working on some writing on the second day. Although I had a few days of fatigue after the procedure, I was surprised at how quickly I recovered. Previous surgeries had kept me fatigued for three weeks. I am usually a “sweller,” but I had little swelling, and actually went out in public after about a week.

Some of my friends know I have had this surgery, and their verdict is “it was worth every penny!” Other people don’t know, but are quite verbal about how good I look. The most important factor is that I feel I look really good: more youthful, more vibrant, more beautiful.

I recommend Dr. Barerra without hesitation.

Anonymous

November 12, 2012

It is now 8 weeks since my surgery. I am enjoying having a more youthful looking face. Most of the numbness is gone and people who know me don´t seem to suspect that I have had cosmetic surgery. They do notice that I look especially good. Of course, the close friends I´ve told why we went to Mexico look more carefully and are very impressed with the natural looking results. I feel like I´m 90% through with my healing. All in all, I am quite happy with the change and my husband loves it, too. It has been a fascinating and rewarding experience that I am very pleased with. It has given me a major boost in confidence. I feel significantly rejuvenated by it.

Diane, California
Sept. 30, 2012

For anyone who is considering using Dr. Carlos Barrera and his liaison, Dawn Simmons´ services for face work, I can honestly say that the whole experience was exactly as I was told it would be, by Dawn and the doctor, with no surprises and nothing misrepresented. I was cared for in a lovely and efficiently-run hospital, in a most professional way. There was no pain involved, but there was manageable discomfort the first few days. By day 4, I was able to go for short walks, eat at restaurants, etc. and with sunglasses and a hat, the surgery was not noticeable at all. At 3 weeks, I resumed all activities, including hiking and swimming.

Now I am almost 3 months past surgery, my eyes are big and bright, as they were when I was much younger, my neck is tighter and clearly defined and my whole appearance is" freshened up", in a most natural way. I get many compliments from friends on how good I look, though people who didn´t know my face very well, are not able to tell that I´ve had work done . This is just what I wanted, to look just as I do, only fresher and more youthful. I consider the whole experience a great success.

Marilyn
Santa Monica, California
September 25, 2012

It´s now been 6 months since my face lift, and both my husband and I are so pleased with my "new look". The best part is thatI still look like "me", only about 10 or 15 years younger (I am 74).

We´ve enjoyed the comments we´ve heard all summer long, such as, "love your new haircut" (same old haircut), "love your new hair color" (same old color), "great new glasses...so flattering" ( same old glasses for 5 years), "you´ve lost so much weight" (not a pound). What fun this is, and I do like looking in the mirror!

But it´s not only the results I´m writing to you about: it´s the wonderful, supportive and caring way that you, Dawn, kept in such close touch with me both before (when I was pretty nervous and needed a lot of TLC), and after the surgery. And of course it´s Dr. Barrera...he is so meticulous, professional and gentle; he is truly an artist. I couldn´t have asked for better treatment before, during or after my face lift. I would not hesitate to send my daughter ( or my sons) to the best face-lift team imaginable: Dr. Barrera and Dawn! Thanks for everything.

Nancy K.
New York
Sept. 3, 2012

I had my face lift and migraine surgery on July 4, 2012. It has not even been 2 months yet, and the compliments keep coming. Dr. Barrera’s expertise far surpassed my expectations. Dr. Barrera was very attentive during my time in the hospital and he personally checked in on me several times a day. Dr. Barrera is a true artist, with an exceptional bedside manner. The day Dr. Barrera removed my stitches, I hit the ground running, and I have not stopped since.

The hospital was great! The nursing staff provided me with excellent care, which I would have never received in the United States. Three nights in a hospital in the United States is “UNHEARD OF” for an elective surgery.

I was a little apprehensive to have my surgery in Mexico, as I had never travelled outside of the United States alone. My apprehension disappeared the minute I walked into Dr. Barrera’s office on July 3rd, the day before my surgery. He answered all of my questions and put my mind totally at ease. Dr. Barrera told me exactly what to expect, and he was right on.

I have suffered with migraines for over 20 years. My migraine surgery was very successful. I have not had any headache discomfort or pain since my surgery date. Before the “Migraine Surgery”, I ALWAYS had my medication with me, as I never knew when a horrible migraine would occur. I am happy to say those days are behind me.

Having the pleasure of recuperating in San Miguel was a “dream come true”. Dawn was always available by phone or e-mail to address any questions or concerns that I had along the way. Dr. Barrera, has made me look youger and I feel so great about myself. Without Dr. Barrera, I would have never been able to receive, nor afford this quality of work in the United States. He is a true artist. Again, thanks to Dr. Barrera for making the above possible. THIS TEAM IS THE BEST!

I would recommend Dr. Barrera as one of the most skilled plastic surgeons I have ever met. Dr. Barrera’s entire team is professional. I would HIGHLY recommend that if you are considering a facelift, migraine surgery, or any other type of plastic surgery, please do your homework. You will never regret having utilized this wonderful surgeon’s services.

Cheryl Ritchie
Dallas, Texas
Sept. 1, 2012

It has been 8 weeks since my face lift, which is hard to believe. Even harder to believe, is how great I look! I can´t tell you how happy I am with the way things turned out. I am looking so much younger and refreshed, and my self-esteem has been given an incredible boost. And the best part about it is that almost no one has a clue as to why I look so good. Even my family did not notice, however the pictures tell the story. In fact, I recently had family photos done and I am thrilled with the way I look in the photos. It was actually even more evident to me that I look much younger when I saw the pictures. I feel like I got away with something because I get to look younger, and no one seems to be the wiser. It is the best of both worlds.

I did have one friend that I had discussed face lifts with months ago. I thought we were on the same page from the things she was saying, however when I told her I was actually considering doing it, she tried to talk me out of it saying that I really didn´t need a lift. I knew better, of course, so I quit talking about it with her. The first time I saw her after the procedure, it had been 3 weeks and she noticed immediately. I think it was because we had the discussion previously, but she was very complimentary, saying that I looked "just like myself only better!" Then she wanted all of the details, and even went as far as saying that she would have her face done if she knew it would turn out as good as mine. Dr. Barrera is a true artist and I am so glad I found him.

I also met my best friend for lunch the other day and she didn´t notice a thing. I finally had to ask her if she noticed anything different about me and she still couldn´t tell. What a testimonial for having a natural result. My entire experience with Dr. Barrera was exceptional from start to finish! You were an integral part of that experience and I can´t thank you enough for your professionalism, attention and kindness. Your continuous emails and encouragement made the whole journey a lot less scary. Things progressed exactly as you said they would, and knowing what to expect every step of the way was priceless. You are absolutely the best, Dawn, and I thank you so much for all of your help and support!

Thanks again for going above and beyond in making this experience one that I would recommend to anyone considering a face lift! Not only did I get absolutely natural results, I paid about a third of what I would have paid for the same procedure in the states, and with much better patient care! I almost did it here. I had my appointment made, however the customer service and attention to detail here was abysmal! I couldn´t even get phone calls answered for days or weeks!! So unlike your constant attention and immediate response to my every need.

Once again, many thanks to Dr. Barrera, and to you, for an exceptional experience and result. My before and after pictures tell the story better than anything I can say!

Laura, Michigan
July 22, 2012

Thanks so much, Dawn. I am beyond happy with my new upper arm lift and want to thank you for all you did for me during this process. This experience was a very positive one and I´m glad that I did this ... with the one and only Dr. Barrera. He did a masterful job and I couldn´t be happier with my results.

The flowers were the finishing touch to a surprisingly stress-free, very professional, truly excellent medical experience. The doctor was incredible, and the fact that he doesn´t use a general anesthetic meant I was up and around and eating and feeling normal almost immediately. I´ve had almost no pain and he has tucked the scar far back on my inner arm so it´s not noticeable from either the front...or the back. All in all, I´m over the moon.

So thank you for all your support, for the flowers and for everyone involved taking such good care of me...and my husband.

Jeannie Huntley
San Francisco
July 4, 2012

Dear Dawn and Dr. Barrera,

I am just now getting used to the reaction I have received since having my procedure in late January. My daughter said I look great and then asked me if I had a nose job...which I did not. Strangers in restaurants are being so complementary about how "pretty" I am. Friends remark "did you lose weight ... you look so good".

I thank you so much for the natural results that have certainly made me very happy and my husband keeps telling me I look even better every day. The operation was more intense than I had expected and waiting to see the new me emerge was indeed a trying situation for a busy person with an A+ personality like myself. Now, as I look in the mirror and see the lines and wrinkles and jowls are gone it is indeed a pleasure and the memory of the discomfort fades. I am actually going without make-up probably for the first time since I was a teenager!!!

My deepest thanks to Dawn, "my face Angel" who reassured me daily and was there for me every step from the beginning to the end of my recovery period.

Once again, thank you, gracias Dr. Barrera for your skill, expertise and reassurance that my outcome would make me as happy as it truly has!

Sincerely,
S.B.
New York City, NY
May 27, 2012

All of the testimonials by others about Doctor Barrera and his team reflect my own recent experience: everyone was very professional, informative, and personable.

Doctor Barrera himself is an extremely skillful surgeon; his unassuming, understated, and quiet manner was ,for me,a most welcome addition.

Just as predicted by the team I received the following responses when I returned home after surgery: "Have you changed your hair?"; "Mexico must have really agreed with you-you look great!"; "You look 50 years old." (I am 70.)

Lenore Rinehart
Toronto,Ontario, Canada
May 16,2012

What a pleasure it is to look younger again! I never really thought I would do it, but when I saw the before and after shots of Dr. Barrera´s patients, I could not help it. I was amazed by the incredible improvement and natural appearance of the women´s faces. It has been three months and I am thrilled. When I returned home a little over three weeks after the surgery, I was hoping that no one would notice and sure enough, no one did.. The hospital stay was comfortable and Dr. Barrera and his staff were very professional. My husband was so happy with my results that he is considering the surgery himself!

Jennifer, Texas
April 18. 2012

Dr. Barrera I am very pleased with the results of my face lift. I don´t know how you did it, but Dr. Barrera somehow managed to give me the appearance of cheekbones. I´ve never had those before. I thought they would diappear when the swelling I had right after my surgery went away. But here I am, eight months after my surgery with all the swelling long gone, so the cheekbones must be mine to keep. My eyes are still my favorite part, though. The dark circles I had for at least 25 years are gone, and my eyelashes have grown back longer and thicker than they were before the surgery. I no longer have to use concealer under my eyes or anywhere else on my face. Neither do I have to wear the heavy foundation I used to wear. Now I´m using the very light foundation Beyonce wears in the ads. I am old enough to be her grandmother, but thanks to Dr. Barrera, nobody would ever know that.

Andrea, Austin, TX
4/3/12

Could you be any more gracious, supportive and wonderful?!

The flowers are absolutely beautiful and are the finishing touch to a surprisingly stress-free, very professional, truly excellent medical experience. The doctor was incredible, as I said, and the fact that he doesn´t use a general anesthetic meant I was up and around and eating and feeling normal almost immediately. I´ve had almost no pain and he showed me that he tucked the scar far back on my inner arm so it´s not noticeable from the front...or the back. All in all, I´m over the moon.

So thank you for all your support, for the flowers and for everyone involved taking such good care of me.

Sherry, Los Angeles
March 31, 2012

It´s been three months now and still no one that I haven´t told about getting a face lift has guessed anything other than ..... that I must have had a great rest in San Miguel ,,,, because I look so young. Even my husband says I look the same but 20 years younger. I´m so pleased to have had this done at age 75 despite my initial fears. Seeing myself younger in the mirror now seems to have given me more energy and it amazes me! I am so grateful to Dr Barrera for his wonderful technique, his kindness and care, and to Dawn who is the most amazing support anyone could hope for.

Dani, New York

Feeling good. Back to work. Looking terrific. No one can tell I had a facelift. Getting many compliments I haven´t had in years on my eyes and weight loss. I still laugh at that since I have worked so hard to stay thin for decades. Guess the sagging skin makes you look heavier.

I have been having a blast creating eye makeup for my now wide open eyes. They look completely natural and no one suspects but I can´t resist doing my old show business makeup when I go out.

Thanks for your excellent follow-up. In the best of worlds, we would get this kind of medical care in the states, but it will never happen in our culture.

I am so entranced with San Miguel, I could stay another month. It has been an emotional, historical, cultural, and romantic experience.

Nancy
Reno, Nevada

The experience with my surgery and Dr. Carlos Barrera was an experience of feeling safe and then, looking great. Though this may sound different, just think about turning over your face and the way you look to another person. A professional whom you only know through friends´ recommendations and what you´ve read. Then, we met.

If you prefer thoroughness, including an up-to-date and progressive procedure for a facelift that is exquisite and finely done...if you want a caring doctor and a caring team, you should choose Dr. Carlos Barrera and his liaison, Dawn.

Dr. Barrera and Dawn are a caring and professional team who helped me before, during and after my process.

My best to all of you who want to feel safe and look great and decide on using the services of Dr. Carlos Barrera and his team of professionals.

Again, thank you Dr. Barrera and thank you, Dawn!

Part-time resident of San Miguel de Allende
January 22, 2012

I was and am SO pleased with how my surgery came out. Dr. Barrera is an artist!...I have nothing but good things to say about this experience...and I was scared to death having surgery in Mexico!

I came home to Chicago and Voila! Everyone said I looked rested...or "what kid of new makeup are u using"?? I was so afraid of coming out looking like Joan Rivers! I am still pleased...its been almost 2 years...and I´m not a kid...but now I look more like I feel! He is such a gentleman....We had a little tea party at my casita in San Miguel when he came to take out the stitches...and I feel funny talking about it because no one here knows I did it. My kids would have thought I was crazy!

V.M., Illinois

I feel great and am 100% pleased with the results of my surgery. I look like me, no lizard face, and I feel great.

Dawn, thanks so much for your encouragement as it meant a lot.

I think the doctor is a true artist.

My husband is a doctor and not usually impressed with plastic surgery results of friends and family. He is VERY impressed with my results.

So, thanks again for everything.

Sandie - California

Just had to drop you a note and tell you today was my official day out with people who were not aware of my facelift five weeks ago. For those people who are on the fence, DO IT!!!! No one can tell, this is the most fun I have had in years!!!! I keep looking in the mirror and can´t believe I look this good!! Dawn, you are a saint to hold our hands and guide us through the whole process, but I promise those of you who aren´t sure, there is absolutely no pain, and my only regret is that I waited so long. I wish I had known about Dr. Barrera years ago. What a GREAT doctor he is, I would do this again in a heartbeat. It was such a fun experience from the beginning.... hearing from you, to the doctor´s driver, Juan, who picks you up.... and meeting Dr. Barrera who is as nice as can be. My daughter told me "Mom he took 50 pounds off your face" LOL My friends have told me never have they seen anyone who has had a facelift that looks this good because it looks so natural! I´m looking forward to my new life and having fun looking in the mirror for the first time in years. Happy Holidays!!!

Susie - Calif.

I love my face! Thank you so much Dr. B for your amazing skills and absolutely professional demeanor. I look and feel like I have gone back in time, at least 15 years. The neat thing is that no one really notices that I had anything done. They just say that I look great and not even close to my 58 years. I feel cute again. When I first went to San Miguel, I had no intention of having a face lift. I saw some ads in the local paper and then did some research. The wonderful Dawn, who works with Dr.B, emailed me lots of addresses of women I could confir with. Each woman I contacted whether by email or in person loved their lift and like me, felt no pain.

It was a little freaky after surgery seeing a swollen and sutured face. "What have I done," I thought. But within weeks I was out socializing and now months later I am just so grateful. I am having so much fun playing "dress up" with clothes and make up. I started having my children when I was 18 and pretty much missed out on being a teenager. With Dr. B´s great expertise, I am really enjoying "having gone back in time". I was by myself in the hospital but it would be nice to have someone with you. I was also on my own in my rental for a month after surgery and did just fine. Going out with a hat and sun glasses for groceries wasn´t difficult at all. I would recommend Dr. Barrara to every one who would like a natural look. It is so nice to not have to look at that saggy skin and to have a neck again! Thank you Dr. B and Dawn.

Karen - Canada

I first began considering a facelift several years before I had mine, on August 2, 2011. My face was still holding up pretty well, but I had suffered from severe migraine headaches for the past 28 years. When I saw a doctor´s report on CNN that said about a thousand people had been permanently and unexpectedly cured of migraines after a facelift, I decided to follow up on this. For five or six years I read everything I could find about facelifts online and came to the conclusion that I was going to get a facelift and that Dr. Barrera was going to be my surgeon. Dr. Barrera had so many wonderful testimonials and more information about the procedure and recovery on his web site than any other plastic surgeon I researched. Most plastic surgeons don´t put much actual information in their web sites — just photos of lots of models young enough to be the grand daughters of anyone who might actually need a facelift. I was particularly impressed by the fact that Dr. Barrera keeps his patients in the hospital for three days. None of the other surgeons I checked out do that. Facelifts are generally done as outpatient surgery. I am a very independent person, but I would not want to be turned loose with my head in a bandage.

You can believe whatever Dr. Barrera tells you about your surgery and the recovery. I´m the kind of person who has to find out things for herself, but what I found out about Dr. Barrera is that he knows what he is doing, and you can believe and trust him. The same goes for everyone else on his team—from the nurses to his driver, Juan Manuel, to the lovely and sweet Dawn. There are a few things about recovery after a facelift, as with any other surgery, that are frustrating and uncomfortable. But the results are so worth it.

As soon as I was discharged from the hospital and the driver brought me back to my hotel room, I felt like I could put on my hat and sunglasses and walk the beautiful streets of San Miguel.

I didn´t realize how dramatic the change in my appearance was until last week when I stumbled upon a photo of me taken two or three years go. But when I saw that photo, I thought, “Look at those droopy eyes, the dark circles beneath them, and the deep grooves in my cheeks!“ I got up and looked at the mirror, and saw smooth, full cheeks and eyes that looked as bright and open as they did twenty years ago. The greatest thrill of all is looking in the mirror and seeing the eyes that I thought I´d never see again looking back at me. The miracle bonus of all of this is that I have not had a sungle migraine headache since August 2nd.

Andrea - Texas

Dear Dr, Barrera and Dawn,

I’m thrilled with my results!
The thought of having face surgery was a bit scary at first but having been through it now; I can honestly say that there was no pain involved. It was just slightly uncomfortable sleeping on my back for the first week. I highly recommend Dr. Barrera and his team of skilled professionals to anyone who is a candidate.

From beginning to end I received great information, care and instructions from both Dr. Barrera and Dawn his International Director. They were great to work with.

At age 59 I had bags under and over my eyes, my jaw line was sagging and I was starting to get a turkey neck. All these problems are gone now. It was like turning back the clock; I look like me only younger and with none of that strange, telltale “I’ve had work done” look. As a plastic surgeon Dr. Barrera is a gifted artist who creates a very natural look.

Thank you Dr. Barrera, Dawn and all the caring people at the clinic.

Sincerely,

J.W. San Miguel

After two years of dealing with cancer treatments where I had no control over my life, I decided--why not? I always wanted to feel better about my looks and this was something I researched, felt comfortable with, and it was my choice. My sister had a facelift by Dr. Barrera two years previously and she looked and still looks great. She accompanied me down to Mexico where we were taken to the clinic and housed together in a comfortable room. Everyone was very accommodating and thoughtful. I was fairly thin at this juncture so I had no swelling but it took some time to get over the tightness of the skin which is normal (about 4 mos). I am 64 and I wanted the look to be natural and it is. Dr. Barrera is not only a fine doctor but a charming individual. And San Miguel de Allende is a lovely oasis. I love to travel and while some of "life´s journeys" are unscripted this facelift was--well--restorative.

Leslie - Canada

I have had wonderful reactions from friends and folks that I know from work. I was recently in NYC for a business dinner and couldn´t have been more pleased with the comments. Just like you and Dr. B said it was all about how good I look, how rested, etc. I had an eye exam last week and when they asked my age -- 67 -- she said "no, I thought you were 47". That may be a stretch, but still I´ll take it. I could not be more pleased with the results of this entire process!

Karol, Mass.

A friend recommended Dr Barrera and I hadn´t even realised she had had a face lift, the result was so natural. When I met with him I was impressed with his professionalism and knew I would be safe in his hands. From the moment I decided to go ahead everything went like clockwork. I was driven to and from the hospital in Celaya by his charming driver. The hospital was excellent and the nursing staff were very attentive. Post surgery I had very little bruising and went home feeling a little discomfort but no pain. Dr Barrera removed the stitches a week later at my home. Dawn, his assistant, followed my progress and provided advice via email and I healed quickly. The results are fantastic and very natural. My friends say I look like myself but younger. Gone are the double chin and the sagging cheeks. Dr Barrera´s skills as a surgeon are top notch.

Jacqueline - London

I had investigated several plastic surgeons, and acquaintances who had facial surgery, before I decided to go with Dr. Barrera. Without a doubt the best decision I have made in my life. Since by brother also wanted to get rid of his "turkey neck".... I, being the big sister, had my little brother go first. I was at his house the day he arrived home from the surgery. I was totally amazed at the immediate difference ... his neck was "young again".... and there was no visible stitches, very little bruising. When the time came for his stitches to be removed I was at his home and made an appointment with Dr. Barrera to have my surgery done. The whole surgical procedure was seamless. Dawn Simmons is a fabulous support person. She basically held my hand though out the healing process. In fact the whole healing process was also seamless.... from Juan Manuel, the driver, picking me up and taking me to the clinic to him bringing me home in 3 days. I have just completed my 3 months of healing... and to be honest I was totally healed in 2 months... the swelling was gone, no bruises and I was out going to lunch with my gal pals. The compliments have not stopped......... and I am singing Dr. Barrera´s praises. He did magic!! Now I look in the mirror and don´t see the old looking woman that used to look back at me. I used to think "that´s not me".... believe me... not anymore. The highest praise I have received was from my daughter.... She told me she had her "Mom back from when she was a child." She is hoping that when her time comes for a face lift Dr. Barrera will be still practicing.... she won´t hesitate going to him.

Most sincerely,
Sonja George - Pennsylvannia

Dr Barrera is truly an artist! I am a second generation patient (my mother´s results were just as impressive) and I would highly and happily recommend anyone considering any "re-modeling", to go to see this excellent Surgeon.

Everyone I dealt with during the entire process was helpful, friendly and professional. My recovery time was minimal. In two days I was sight-seeing in San Miguel and in two weeks I returned home and no one had any idea that I´d had surgery! My results are subtle and perfect. Friends and associates are constantly telling me I look great, but only those I told.... know the reason why. The excess skin is gone but my facial features and appearance haven´t been altered in any way.... perfect results!

I´m so glad I had this surgery done and I don´t have a single regret. I look great and feel more confident. I have no scars, I had no problems and (yay!) no more jowls!

Kate - B.C., Canada

From all the testimonials I have read on the faceliftmeup web site, all ring true to my own experience. Dawn holds your hand throughout the weeks, to give you confidence and assurance that you made the right decision. Forget about Brazil, and Costa Rica....make it easy on yourself, and go with Dr. Barrera. Dr. Barrera would be at home in Beverly Hills and have famous patients. My sister saw my results, and schedule her surgery right away. No Burt Reynolds tight look here......very very natural results. In my case I had more than 10 years erased. So get a new lease on life, and do it sooner rather than later.

Sincerely, JAMESINMX

It has been three months since my facelift with Dr. Carlos Barrera and I can´t recommend him highly enough. He is truly a genius, a gifted surgeon and a professional of the highest order. My experience with him, his staff and the pre/post op team at the hospital in Celaya was truly exemplary and equal, if not better, than the care I would have received at the finest hospital in the US. I was cared for with such great attention to detail that I never had a moment of uncertainty regarding my treatment. As for my results, I have three stories that speak to my satisfaction. 1) One of my oldest and dearest friends describes my face as my new/former face. She says that my results are so natural I look as I did 15 to 20 years ago. And her husband said that mine is the first facelift he has ever seen that makes him want one. 2) Six weeks after surgery, I stepped from the shower, looked at myself and thought, "Finally, I have a face that is a match to my spirit. I´ve always had a youthful spirit; now I have a face to match. 3) On the first visit to my chiropractor following the surgery, I noticed him looking at me from the desk and he said, "New glasses?" When I went into the treatment room, he said, "What did you do? You look exceptionally pretty." So I showed him all of my incisions. As I left the office, he asked for a supply of Dr. Barrera´s cards for referrals. He says that Dr. Barrera´s work is the finest he has ever seen. And Dawn, what a blessing you are! You were absolutely right. There was no pain. In fact the only pain I had was caused by my smiling and laughing too much too soon after the surgery. Since the fifth week post op, I have been to meetings in the Times Square offices of an international client, to Boca to perform a vow renewal ceremony and to Miami to work with clients. At no time has anyone said anything other than I look so like myself, so natural and absolutely beautiful. I am seven months away from celebrating my 65th birthday. And there will be a party as fabulous as I look! Thank you Dr. Barrera from the bottom of my heart!

Linda, Denver, CO

Dr. B is such a skilled surgeon!!! I was terrified and researched for over a year. Dawn is a saint. She answered question after question. I made dates for the surgery and then cancelled them. I was so scared I would not like the outcome, or I would look like I was in a wind tunnel, etc etc etc. However, for me the surgery was uneventful. I had no bleeding and minimal bruising. I had no pain. It has now been 4 months since I had the surgery. I have to tell you not a day goes by that I don´t wake up almost giddy that I did it! I looked great even with minimal swelling. Most of my friends think I got a new hairdo.

The biggest part is actually making the decision. The rest...just leave in Dr. Barrera´s hands. He knows what he´s doing....likes what he does.....and is a master. His trademark is the "natural" look. My scars are already almost invisible! It´s amazing! Just do it. You will not regret it. But, as I said, I was the poster child for terrified. Ask Dawn. Now everytime I look in the mirror I can´t believe it. Gone is my crepey chicken-neck. Gone are those bags that had me looking so tired all the time!

Jody - Calif.

I had my work done in May of 2010 and I am completely happy with the result. I came home to Canada and not a single person realized what I had done. This kind of made me wonder if it was worthwhile but all I had to do was look at the before and after pictures and knew what a fantastic job Dr. Barrera had done. My own daughters didn't know until I showed them the pictures.

Don't be shocked when you first come out of surgery and you are wrapped up like a "Mummy". This only lasts a day and once those bandages are removed you will relax and wait for the next step. My face felt quite tight until the stitches were removed on the eighth day and after that it was all down hill. I feel my face looks totally natural and shows no sign of a face lift, which is wonderful. When I tell people what was done and show them the pictures they are in awe and say.... when they are ready to have work done they want to have Dr. Barrera do it even if they have to leave home.

My eyes were very black & blue but faded quickly. My initial thought was it would take forever to fade but it took only a matter of days. I went out publicly on the eighth day with sunglasses which I wear all the time in any case. I stayed away from using makeup for the first couple of months and then bought new and fresh makeup just to be on the safe side. Dr. Barrera did say it was okay to use makeup once the stitches were out but I was being cautious.

If I had known the wonders of Dr. Barrera I would have had my face lift done much sooner.

Sheryl - Canada

Can’t tell you how pleased I am with the result of surgery with Dr.Carlos Barrera.

At 74 I was apprehensive to say the least, and thought perhaps I had waited way too long, but I was at the point that when I brushed my teeth each morning I shut my eyes in order not to see that old lady looking at me from the mirror.

After talking to Dawn, and meeting Dr. Barrera, I decided to give it a try.

The total experience was wonderful. Every arrangement was without a hitch. The hospital was comfortable and spotless, the nurses very attentive, and Dr. Barrera himself made rounds several times a day. The fact that the entire procedure was done without a general anesthetic makes your recovery much quicker, and I never once experienced any pain. The skin was not stretched to give me the mummy look, and I don’t have a visible scar. The process has taken 20 years of wear and tear off my long neglected face, and given me a new lease on life.

Do it, you will never regret it. I live in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, where a large number of women have had “work” done. There are many doctors in this area who specialize in facelift procedures, however, Carlos Barrera is #1.

Kay - Texas/San Miguel

"My experience with Dr. Barrera was really positive through the entire surgical process. He and his staff (particularly Dawn) run an efficient, professional practice. I was well informed, supported, and got a great surgery too! I appreciated Dr. Barrera’s skill, compassion, and confidence."

Jan - California

I was watching a friend last week with an obvious "newly-pulled" look and was so glad I had gone to Dr. Barrera. Anyone I tell, or who asks, always says, "wow, how natural!" I waited until I was 67 because I expected a lot of pain and a major hospital procedure with horrible after-effects from anesthesia, lots of gooey swelling, days in bed. None of this! There's virtually no pain! I also feel that Dr. Barrera really cares about each patient, and he promptly and graciously attends to any aftercare needs, even canceling his midday meal "comida" or staying late, if necessary. Don't wait. I'm sorry I didn't do it earlier.

Nan Ojai, California

I spent a long time investigating plastic surgeons abroad and I am exceedingly grateful that I found Dr. Barrera. He is a very gifted surgeon and a charming man, besides. My sister, a liposuction patient, and I, a face lift patient, are both thrilled with our final results. We could not have found anyone better to do our surgeries, inside or outside of the U.S.A. I have had decades taken off of my face and I can see that my sister has had 30 years taken off of her figure!

I also want to mention that the whole experience, from the time the plane landed until we were again airborne, was amazingly well structured. We were taken care of, reassured, and even pampered every step of the way.

We are grateful to Dr. Barrera and indeed his whole staff for providing us with a very positive experience while we visited San Miguel. We rejoice at such a wonderful outcome now that we have returned home.

Gail - Austin, TX

Dr. Barrera certainly exceeded my expectations! I could not be more pleased with the results of my procedure, as they are very, very natural looking. I look 10 years younger and my husband is extremely pleased with the more youthful version of me. Going to San Miguel to have this procedure done was the best thing I could have ever done and it is a beautiful city in which to recover. I received wonderfully attentive care while in the hospital, plus, saved a considerable amount of money and there was no compromise in ANY area whatsoever! Dr. Barrera's post-op care is clearly a high priority for him. He is an amazingly skilled and artistic surgeon whom I can recommend to anyone considering a facelift. I doubt I would have received this level of care in the U.S. I am also very appreciative of Dawn's helpful, attentive and caring spirit throughout this entire process. Believe me, you can trust your face to Dr. Barrera and Dawn! Rita - Boulder, CO

For me, the hardest thing about this entire process was making the decision to actually do it. If there was any way I could have known then what I know now, the decision to have a face lift would have been so much easier to make. All of my arrangements were exact. I was picked up from the airport on time and taken to the hospital, which is nice and clean and the room is comfortable. I received a clear schedule of everything that was going to take place and Dr. Barrera and his attentive staff were more than happy to answer any questions I had. After I had the surgery, the only pain I felt was when I looked in the mirror on the first couple of days. My eyes were black and swollen and my head was the shape of a balloon. For the first few days I rested and slept and ate light meals which the hospital provided. I recuperated in San Miguel in a private home for two weeks. The recovery was easy and I then started to explore San Miguel. It is a wonderful city and the people are so nice. Each day I saw significant progress and when I flew home I was almost normal (slight swelling and some light bruising). I must be a slow healer because it took a full 3 months for all the swelling to go away. People said I looked really rested. I never was uncomfortable except for some tight feelings in my neck and around my temples. Dr. Barrera also removed some pre-cancerous tissue when he was doing my facelift. After 6 months I think I look great. There is only one tiny scar under my chin and I look at least 10 years younger. I am amazed when I see before and after photos of myself. Dr. Barrera did an incredible job of making me look younger but very natural. I look fresh and rested and I don’t have wrinkles. I am 68 years old and I couldn’t be happier with the results. My husband and daughter are thrilled with the way I look. Besides my satisfaction with the surgery, I must say that I absolutely love and trust Dawn. She is such a great support. She knows that Dr. Barrera is a very talented surgeon and he can make your life better. She offers her help in every aspect through the decision process, the surgery arrangements as well as the follow-up. By now you know that I am very enthusiastic about Dr. Barrera and Dawn. If I ever need any other plastic surgery, Dr. Barrera will be my only choice. Clair - Boulder, Colorado June, 2010

Thanks, Dawn, for introducing me to Dr. Barrera. He has completely removed the basal cell cancer and I am very pleased with my progress. I think he did an outstanding job. Not only did he leave my nerve intact, there is very little swelling and bruising. I can tell that, by the time it fully heals, it will be hardly noticeable. This is a much different outcome than I would have received from the dermatologist at home. Diann - Albuquerque

Dr. Barrera is a fantastic surgeon! I look very natural and I still have "my" identity. My husband says I look 10 years younger, which pleases me a great deal. I am very glad I made the decision to have Dr. Barrera do my surgery. I am VERY happy with my decision to go to San Miguel and have this procedure done. The hospital staff was attentive and caring. I would never have received the same care in the U.S. Dr. Barrera´s follow-up care was extraordinary. I would highly recommend Dr. Barrera´s services without hesitation. Thanks, Dawn, for being a sense of assurance, strength and support for me.

Gretchen
Boulder, Co

When I became thoroughly convinced that Dr. Barrera would be the best surgeon, based on several friends’ recommendations and an interview with the top plastic surgeon in New Mexico, I decided to tell only my children.

What I was most afraid of was looking “pulled,” even though I had scoured each of the AFTER photos on Dr. B’s website to see if any had a “tightened face” look. None did. So when I got home from San Miguel less than two weeks after surgery and my daughter said, “Mom, you look ‘pulled,’ I freaked out.

Luckily I had Dawn to reassure me. “It’s much too early, Barbara. You’re still a little swollen,” Dawn told me. “Dr. Barrera’s trademark is that ALL his patients look natural.

My total bill from Dr. B was $6500! That included the hospital (3 nights for my sister and me in a suite), the surgery, anesthesiologist, cardiologist, EKG, blood tests, meals for both of us AND Dr. B’s driver picked us up at the airport in Leon and took us to the hospital. Three days later he drove us to the house we rented in San Miguel. Dr. B’s fee even included his visit to our house in SM to remove my stitches.

If you are considering having a facelift, believe me, you cannot find a more brilliant surgeon or one whose method is safer. I had no general anesthesia – just a local and something to make me sleepy. When I awoke, I asked my sister when they were going to take me into surgery. Her reply: “It’s all done.”

One of the most compelling reasons for choosing Dr. Barrera would be the comforting presence of Dawn Simmons – whether in person or via phone or email. She cares deeply for Dr. Barrera’s patients. If you have any questions for me, please send them to Dawn.

Barbara W. - Taos, New Mexico

Dr. Barrera: Sometime about 1997 or 1998 my wife had a face lift performed by you in Celaya. At the same time I had a "chin lift", also performed by you. I am happy to tell you, after many years, that having those surgeries was one of the smartest things we ever did. She looked years younger, and now, at age 81, people still tell her that she is beautiful. And I agree! I am now 83 and people who don’t know me well, think that I am at least ten years younger. At the time, we debated about whether the surgery would be worth the cost and discomfort, But the discomfort was minimal and after about a week, we were able to walk about as if nothing had happened, but looking much better, and feeling a lot younger! Please feel free to use this message if you wish, using only our initials. And thank you for your professional expertise in accomplishing superb results for both of us. Cordially, Robert H.

When you sign up cosmetic surgery package through “FaceLiftMeUp” you’re not just getting a skilled and caring surgeon with 23-years experience, you’re also getting a wonderful patient advocate and friend in the person of Dawn Simmons. Both Dr. Barrera and Dawn are amazingly responsive to your care and anxieties and go “above and beyond” to make sure you have the best experience possible. Another important aspect of the package is the after-care program. In the U.S., cosmetic surgery is usually done on as an outpatient procedure with patients sent home as soon as they’re out of recovery. FaceLiftMeUp includes three nights of excellent care in the hospital in a spacious suite with leather sofas. They even provided a bed and meals for my husband. Having cosmetic surgery is a serious consideration. Complications may be relatively rare, but they do happen. Dr. Barrera and Dawn do their best to make sure your surgery is successful and your experience is the best it can be. - Katie

I had my facelift with Dr. Barrera one month ago and it went beautifully . There were three things I was looking for pertaining to this surgery. The first and most important one was the skill of the doctor. Dr. Barrera absolutely knows what to do. The second consideration was the overall medical care. It was, without a doubt, of the highest standards. The last consideration was the cost of the surgery. Ten years ago I wanted to have a facelift but there was no way I could afford it in the U.S. Not only was this surgery affordable, but I received much better care than I would have if I had it done in the states. I have absolutely no regrets except I would have liked to have enjoyed the mineral springs in San Miguel a few more days. Wendy

I had a full face lift in August 08. I could not be happier with the results acheived by Dr. Barrera. I am a 75 year old patient and he took 10 years off of me. His expertise and skill are without question. He has an excellent bedside manner. I had very little discomfort. I would recommend the services of Dr. Barrera without hesitation. Dwight S. - Dallas, Texas

Following a diagnosis of malignant melanoma my dermatologist recommended that one side of my nose be removed. I chose Carlos Barrera to undertake the excision and reconstruction beause I had the utmost faith in his competence. After three precise procedures, there is virtually no evidence of the gross excisions my condition required. I have great comfidence in Dr. Barrera and would recommend him to anyone requiring reconstructive or plastic surgery. Graham - New Zealand

I was very pleased with the results of my face lift and very impressed with the professionalism of Dr. Barrera. I never took a pain pill and was out to lunch and dinner three days later. The swelling and bruising were minimal and I felt great. I chose Dr. Barrera because the women I saw who had used him had a very natural looking result. Their face was not stretched to the max. After hearing the horror stories from my friends in the States, my experience was a joy! L from N.C.



Face Lift Me Up has had 227487 visitors since September 09, 2008

Fragolan Linking People web designer, domain registration, web hosting packages, seo, search engine optimization, d-gen content management system, tutorials, graphic design, web layout design, facturacion electronica, comprobantes fiscales digitales, avalado por el sat, cfd en pdf xml
http://www.fragolan.com

Facturación electrónica por internet en México DF Distrito Federal autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Celaya Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Dolores Hidalgo Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Irapuato Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en León Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Moroleón Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Salamanca Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Silao Guanajuato autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Nuevo León autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Monterrey Nuevo León autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Querétaro autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en San Juan del Río Querétaro autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Tequisquiapan Querétaro autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Tamaulipas autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactFacturación electrónica por internet en Reynosa Tamaulipas autorizada por el SAT, CFDI, digifactReal Estate Properties for Sale San Miguel de Allende, Homes for sale in San Miguel de Allende, Houses for sale in San Miguel de Allende, Property for sale in San Miguel de AllendeReal Estate Properties for Sale San Miguel de Allende, Homes for sale in San Miguel de Allende, Houses for sale in San Miguel de Allende, Property for sale in San Miguel de Allende